Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Vintage Books




Fatal Pursuit

Fatal Pursuit

A pair of murders, a romance, and rivals in pursuit of a long-lost vintage car make for another mystery for Bruno, chief of police. It’s the start of summer,...

Read more ›
Homegoing

Homegoing

Winner of the PEN/ Hemingway AwardWinner of the NBCC's John Leonard First Book PrizeA New York Times Notable BookA Washington Post Notable BookOne of the Best Books of the Year: NPR, Time, Oprah.com, Harper’s...

Read more ›
Natasha, Pierre, & The Great Comet of 1812

Natasha, Pierre, & The Great Comet of 1812

Dave Malloy here presents the stunning twenty-two chapter selection from Leo Tolstoy’s War and Peace that formed the basis of his hit Broadway sensation, Natasha, Pierre...

Read more ›
The Nix

The Nix

New York Times 2016 Notable BookEntertainment Weekly's #1 Book of the YearWashington Post 2016 Notable BookSlate Top...

Read more ›
The Pier Falls

The Pier Falls

Nine dazzling stories from the beloved, bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.The stories that make up The Pier Falls...

Read more ›
Radical Hope

Radical Hope

Radical Hope is a collection of letters—to ancestors, to children five generations from now, to strangers in grocery lines, to any and all who feel weary and discouraged—written...

Read more ›
Anatomy of a Soldier

Anatomy of a Soldier

Here is the unforgettable story of Captain Tom Barnes, whom we first meet as he is leading British troops in Afghanistan. We then meet two young Afghani boys—and the...

Read more ›
The Romanovs

The Romanovs

The Romanovs were the most successful dynasty of modern times, ruling a sixth of the world’s surface for three centuries. How did one family turn a war-ruined principality...

Read more ›
This Must Be the Place

This Must Be the Place

Best-selling author Maggie O’Farrell captures a remarkable marriage with insight and laugh-out-loud humor.  Daniel Sullivan leads a complicated life. A...

Read more ›
Wintering

Wintering

A true epic: a love story that spans sixty years, generations’ worth of feuds, and secrets withheld and revealed. One day, elderly, demented Harry Eide steps...

Read more ›
Salsa

Salsa

A Vintage Shorts “Short Story Month” Original Selection   Brave, intelligent, fierce—eighteen-year-old Silvia knows how to handle men. When she discovered...

Read more ›
Bright, Precious Days

Bright, Precious Days

This unforgettable New York story of glamour, sex, ambition, and heartbreak begins in the heady days before the financial crash. Russell and Corrine Calloway seem to be...

Read more ›
The Hopefuls

The Hopefuls

A blazingly honest portrait of ambition and marriage, and a brilliantly funny send-up of young D.C., from the bestselling author of Girls in White Dresses.A...

Read more ›
Ruthless River

Ruthless River

A stunning debut; a Departures original publication. The ultimate survival story; a wild ride—the wildest—down a South American river in the thick of the Amazon Basin;...

Read more ›
We Are Never Meeting in Real Life.

We Are Never Meeting in Real Life.

Sometimes you just have to laugh, even when life is a dumpster fire. With We Are Never Meeting in Real Life., “bitches gotta eat” blogger and...

Read more ›
White Sands

White Sands

In White Sands, Geoff Dyer (“one of the funniest writers alive” —Chicago Tribune) finds himself on the road again, crisscrossing the globe...

Read more ›
Break in Case of Emergency

Break in Case of Emergency

In her early thirties, Jen has all but abandoned a once-promising painting career when she takes a poorly defined job at a feminist nonprofit. The Leora Infinitis Foundation—or...

Read more ›
How to Set a Fire and Why

How to Set a Fire and Why

“Ball has created a voice that echoes the beloved narrators of J. D. Salinger and John Green. . . . With her tragic past, brilliant mind and subversive potential, Lucia could be thought of...

Read more ›
Keeping an Eye Open

Keeping an Eye Open

Flaubert believed that great paintings required no words of explanation. But, as Barnes notes, it is a rare picture that stuns, or argues, us into silence. And when this does happen,...

Read more ›
The Noise of Time

The Noise of Time

One of the Best Books of the Year: San Francisco Chronicle1936: Dmitri Shostakovich, just thirty years old, reckons with the first of three conversations...

Read more ›
Swimming in the Sink

Swimming in the Sink

In this stunning memoir of life after loss, open-water swimming legend and bestselling author of Grayson Lynne Cox tells of facing the one challenge that no amount of...

Read more ›
Amatka

Amatka

A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city...

Read more ›
East West Street

East West Street

Winner of the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for NonfictionA profound and profoundly important book—a moving personal detective story, an uncovering of secret pasts, and a book that...

Read more ›

Load more