Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Vintage Books




Bright, Precious Days

Bright, Precious Days

This unforgettable New York story of glamour, sex, ambition, and heartbreak begins in the heady days before the financial crash. Russell and Corrine Calloway seem to be...

Read more ›
The Hopefuls

The Hopefuls

A blazingly honest portrait of ambition and marriage, and a brilliantly funny send-up of young D.C., from the bestselling author of Girls in White Dresses.A...

Read more ›
Ruthless River

Ruthless River

A stunning debut; a Departures original publication. The ultimate survival story; a wild ride—the wildest—down a South American river in the thick of the Amazon Basin;...

Read more ›
Salsa

Salsa

A Vintage Shorts “Short Story Month” Original Selection   Brave, intelligent, fierce—eighteen-year-old Silvia knows how to handle men. When she discovered...

Read more ›
We Are Never Meeting in Real Life.

We Are Never Meeting in Real Life.

Sometimes you just have to laugh, even when life is a dumpster fire. With We Are Never Meeting in Real Life., “bitches gotta eat” blogger and...

Read more ›
White Sands

White Sands

In White Sands, Geoff Dyer (“one of the funniest writers alive” —Chicago Tribune) finds himself on the road again, crisscrossing the globe...

Read more ›
Break in Case of Emergency

Break in Case of Emergency

In her early thirties, Jen has all but abandoned a once-promising painting career when she takes a poorly defined job at a feminist nonprofit. The Leora Infinitis Foundation—or...

Read more ›
How to Set a Fire and Why

How to Set a Fire and Why

“Ball has created a voice that echoes the beloved narrators of J. D. Salinger and John Green. . . . With her tragic past, brilliant mind and subversive potential, Lucia could be thought of...

Read more ›
Keeping an Eye Open

Keeping an Eye Open

Flaubert believed that great paintings required no words of explanation. But, as Barnes notes, it is a rare picture that stuns, or argues, us into silence. And when this does happen,...

Read more ›
The Noise of Time

The Noise of Time

One of the Best Books of the Year: San Francisco Chronicle1936: Dmitri Shostakovich, just thirty years old, reckons with the first of three conversations...

Read more ›
Swimming in the Sink

Swimming in the Sink

In this stunning memoir of life after loss, open-water swimming legend and bestselling author of Grayson Lynne Cox tells of facing the one challenge that no amount of...

Read more ›
Amatka

Amatka

A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city...

Read more ›
Heroes of the Frontier

Heroes of the Frontier

“A picaresque adventure and spiritual coming-of-age tale — On the Road crossed with Henderson the Rain King… Deeply affecting.” —Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times Longlisted...

Read more ›
In the Unlikely Event

In the Unlikely Event

In this brilliant new novel—her first for adults since Summer Sisters—Judy Blume takes us back to the 1950s and introduces us to the town of Elizabeth, New Jersey,...

Read more ›
The Spy

The Spy

In his new novel, Paulo Coelho, bestselling author of The Alchemist and Adultery, brings to life one of history's most enigmatic women: Mata Hari. HER ONLY...

Read more ›
The Accidental Life

The Accidental Life

An Amazon Best Book of 2016A celebration of the writing and editing life, as well as a look behind the scenes at some of the most influential magazines in America (and the writers who made them what...

Read more ›
All Passion Spent

All Passion Spent

Irreverently funny and surprisingly moving, All Passion Spent is the story of a woman who discovers who she is just before it is too late.After the...

Read more ›
Attic

Attic

Here is the slim, stunning debut novel from the acclaimed author of Geek Love. Attic follows a young woman named Kay who has joined a cult-like organization...

Read more ›
East West Street

East West Street

Winner of the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for NonfictionA profound and profoundly important book—a moving personal detective story, an uncovering of secret pasts, and a book that...

Read more ›
The Edwardians

The Edwardians

An instant bestseller when it was published in 1930, this glittering satire of Edwardian high society features a privileged brother and sister torn between tradition and...

Read more ›
Bridget Jones's Baby

Bridget Jones's Baby

Bridget Jones, beloved Singleton and global phenomenon, is back—with a bump! This gloriously funny story tells us what happened between The Edge of Reason and Mad...

Read more ›
Conclave

Conclave

The best-selling author of Enigma and Fatherland turns to today's Vatican in a ripped-from-the-headlines novel, and gives us his most ambitious, page-turning thriller yet--where...

Read more ›
The Terror Years

The Terror Years

These powerful investigative pieces, which take us from the religious police of Saudi Arabia to the rise of the Islamic State, comprise an essential primer on jihadist movements...

Read more ›
Troubled Refuge

Troubled Refuge

From the author of What This Cruel War Was Over, a vivid portrait of the Union army’s escaped-slave refugee camps and how they shaped the course of emancipation and...

Read more ›

Load more